Northwest Ohio

Become a Child Care Provider

Becoming a Registered Provider 

Are you thinking about becoming a child care provider?
Currently, there are three types of child care providers that are certified or licensed through the State of Ohio. These types are Type B family child care providers, Type A family child care providers, and child care centers.

  • Licensed Type B family child care providers serve children through the publicly funded child care program. One to 6 children are cared for in the provider's personal home. No more than three children may be under the age of two. The provider's own children under six years of age must be included in the total count. Type B homes are only licensed by ODJFS if they serve, or intend to serve, children through the publicly funded child care program. Family child care providers can operate a Type B home without a license as long as they do not serve publicly funded families.
  • Type A Providers are licensed and inspected by the state and are allowed to care for up to 12 children but must have at least one assistant helping to care for the children.
  • Child Care Centers are facilities that are licensed and inspected by the state at least once a year. The size of the center determines the number of children and the number of staff. Currently, those interested in opening a center must complete workshops designed and provided by the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services.   

For information on becoming a licensed Type B provider, a licensed Type A provider, or to open a center, visit the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services website at

The Benefits of Becoming a YWCA CCR&R Registered Provider

  • We help connect child care providers with parents who are seeking child care.
  • We provide a variety of child development trainings several days a week at various times of the day to ensure child care providers can meet their professional development goals.
  • We offer coaching for your programming needs such as: room arrangements, setting up different centers in your rooms, appropriate book and toy selections, and more.
  • We keep child care professionals connected to events and policy issues through our quarterly newsletter.
  • We offer a free Resource Library where providers can borrow books and prop boxes, laminate items, and create activity bulletin boards using our Cricut and Ellison machines.
  • We offer an annual Provider Appreciation Day event to celebrate all the hard work child care providers do every day.
  • We offer all of these services and more to our registered child care providers free of charge.
Requirements to become a Registered Provider with the YWCA CCR&R:

Your center must be licensed in the State of Ohio and within the county areas that we serve. In addition we ask that you submit the following forms:

Please print and complete these documents and contact the CCR&R in your region in order to submit them. If you have any questions or concerns as you complete this packet, please feel free to call our office for assistance at (800) 632-3052. All elements of the application packet contain information that may be useful to you in the future. We suggest you make copies of all completed materials before submitting them to our office.

In addition to completing these materials, we also ask that you attend a mandatory new provider orientation at the YWCA. Once you have completed and returned all of the items required to be added to our registry, a referral specialist will contact you to discuss your criminal background check and schedule your orientation.

Become a Child Care Provider ( We're glad you became a provider | Disclaimer)
Update Your Program   | 
Professional Development Opportunities  (Training Guidelines)   |
Provider Connection Newsletters |
Step Up to Quality  |
Additional Resources for Providers  |


Disclaimer: YWCA Child Care Resource & Referral does not license, endorse, or recommend
any particular provider nor can assure you that any provider gives quality care. 

Crawford Region: Serving Crawford, Marion, Morrow, and Richland Counties
Lima Region: Serving Allen, Auglaize, Hancock, Hardin, Mercer, Putnam, and Van Wert Counties
Toledo Region: Serving Defiance, Fulton, Henry, Lucas, Ottawa, Paulding, Williams, and Wood Counties